This is a review I wrote after watching the film, Lights Out. I wish I could have been kinder to it but there were just so many things wrong with it to give it a pass.

For Your Consideration

lightsoutheader

I went to see Lights Out this weekend, the new horror movie written by Eric Heisserer and directed by David Sandberg. It comes as no surprise to me that the film was produced by James Wan as he seems to be behind just about every scary movie that has hit cinemas in the last few years, and Lights Out has that familiar vibe to it that we’ve come to expect from the likes of the Insidious movies and The Conjurings. One difference with Lights Out compared to those other movies, however, is the fact that it started life as short film of Sandberg’s that was then adapted  by Heisserer with a few tweaks to the story to accommodate the longer running time. Overall I’d say it’s a serviceable boofest but I have to qualify that I do have some genuinely mixed feelings about it.

View original post 640 more words