A very brief piece I wrote in anticipation of the new film, Alien: Covenant, for my film-based podcast blog.

For five years I have been struggling with Prometheus as a film. I had trouble with some of the character motivations, the pathology of the black goo, and a number of other things. I have been revisiting the film off and on since 2012 when I first saw it in theatres and it wasn’t until this month that I was finally able to make sense of things to the degree that I can actually enjoy the movie. In fact, now, I can honestly say that I’m actually quite fond of it.

After doing some research and watching the marketing unravel for Covenant, I was finally able to fill the holes previously left gaping, answer questions left irritatingly unanswered, and giving me hope that Alien: Covenant would be the film that I hoped it would be. 

For Your Consideration

aliencovenantOkay. I am officially in full deep-dive mode on Prometheus and Alien: Covenant as we go into the final couple of weeks leading up to the latter film’s release.

Originally, I had a lot of problems with Prometheus and have spent that last couple of years visiting and revisiting the story to try and find that place where I can enjoy it without getting angry. I love a mystery but so many questions left unanswered in an unsatisfactory way just leaves a bad taste in your mouth no matter how you slice it. Promises, however, have been made that many of the answers we, as fans, have been seeking for the last 5 years will be addressed and from what I have seen of early promotional material this may actually be the case.

View original post 178 more words