I cannot even begin to tell you how hard it is to review these all-ages Scooby-Doo books. I want to bring my full critical powers to bear on them but they are very much targeted at a younger demographic and, as such, cannot be judged in the same way. It takes me twice as long to write one of these as it does any regular comic for a general audience.

A Blog Named Scooby-Doo!

STL010819SCOOBY-DOO! WHERE ARE YOU? #71 (DC Comics)

  • W: Derek Fridolks/Sholly Fisch/Embla Malmenlid
  • A: Walter Carzon & Horacio Ottolini/Scott Jeralds & Jorge Pacheco/Scott Neely

Just a quick disclaimer before I get into the review. I’m going to try to approach these family oriented books with an eye towards finding a balance between reviewing them with a lighter touch because of their intended audience and treating them like any other book with my normal reviewing style.

In “Boo Recruits”, the first of three stories in this issue, we find the gang being called in by the military to help solve the mystery of the Scary Soldier. They report to a Sargeant Williams who tells them of the spectre of a soldier who has been wandering the grounds of the base and scaring the base personnel. In order to investigate, Fred, Daphne, Velma, Shaggy, and Scooby all have to pretend to join the army, boot camp and…

View original post 699 more words