For Your Consideration

I recently watched Valkyrie for the first time and I was surprised to hear that, upon its release in 2008, it was not at all received well by critics or theatre-goers. Most of them complained about Cruise and the accents or just said that they found it a bland thriller  that suffered from a lack of tension since we all knew Hitler survives the assassination attempt only to kill himself a year later. Having no knowledge/recollection of this attitude towards the movie I went into it thinking only of how the friends I have who had seen it had all spoken well of it. I went into the experience looking forward to seeing a powerful ensemble cast and just hoping I would get a solid World War II thriller out of it.

I believe this is exactly what I got, and maybe a bit more.

View original post 1,160 more words